“We are a small country, but a proud people.”

It’s not long before I’ll be leaving Norway to Israel. As the day pass, it’s starting really to sink in that I am going to Israel all by myself for a year, but on the other hand I can’t wait because I’ve been waiting for the departure day for so long. I just want to be finished with the nerve racking first day in Israel because I know that if I can make it through the first day, I’ll make it. I don’t want to talk about my trip now because the latest that have happened and that are on everyone’s mind and mouths, the horrific attack in Norway.

Outside Domkirken

Oslo

On Friday, it was a week after the shocking, horrific and cowardly attack on defenseless youths and the attack on the government building. We have seen it in the news and we have read about it in the newspaper, but never would we have imagined that it would happen here in Norway. Never would we have imagined seeing soldiers in the street and police everywhere in the street. Even though a person could make so much damaged to a whole nation, I know that Norway, as many countries before that have gone through a tragedy or two, are going to make it through this tragedy and get out of this stronger than ever. While the former American President George. W. Bush said after the 9/11 attacks “We’re gonna hunt you down”, the Norwegian Prime Minster Jens Stoltenberg said, “We will retaliate with more democracy”.

“We are a small country, but a proud people.” – Jens Stoltenberg

P.S. I was going to post some of the pictures from Poland, but I decided that I am not going to do it.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

